Skip to the content

Do you have a solution that could change the world?

The search for the 2022 winners of the Earthshot Prize has begun, with the European Marine Energy Centre (EMEC) appointed as official nominator for the initiative.

Launched in 2020 by Prince William and Sir David Attenborough, the Earthshot Prize is said to be the most prestigious global environment prize in history, aiming to find new solutions to the world’s biggest environmental problems.

Five £1 million prizes will be awarded each year for the next 10 years, providing at least 50 solutions to the world’s greatest environmental problems by 2030.

A Decade of Action to Repair the Planet

The Earthshot Prize aims to inspire a decade of action, convening the environmental world with funders, businesses and individuals to maximize impact, take solutions to scale, celebrate the people and places driving change, and inspire people all over the world to work together to repair the planet.

The European Marine Energy Centre (EMEC) has been invited to join the list of official nominators following a visit to Orkney by Prince William and Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge, in May 2021 when the royals were introduced to some of the world-leading decarbonization innovations taking place in Orkney.

As an official nominator, EMEC is one of over 300 organisations from around the world, invited to identify the most impactful solutions, from grassroots to businesses, and submit nominations across the five Earthshot categories:

  • Protect and restore nature
  • Clean our air
  • Revive our oceans
  • Build a waste-free world
  • Fix our climate

Who Can Be Nominated?

EMEC has been asked to nominate individuals, communities, businesses and organisations whose solutions make tangible progress towards achieving the five Earthshots.

Solutions should be beyond idea stage, have been tested in-field or with target audiences, and are at a ‘tipping point’ for scaling their impact within the next five years, according to EMEC.

In 2022, additional weighting is being put on preventative solutions that provide an alternative to approaches that cause harm to the environment and address the source of the problem, the center noted, stressing that nominations can only be submitted to the Earthshot Prize by official nominators.

Application Process

If you have a solution that is inspiring, inclusive and impactful, please complete the nomination form and email it to by 12 noon, Monday 21 February 2022.

Download the nomination form

Nominations can only be submitted to The Earthshot Prize by Official Nominators. EMEC will evaluate all applications submitted and, following internal review, will submit the most impactful applications to the Earthshot evaluation committee.

After nominations are submitted to The Earthshot Prize, they are screened as part of a rigorous assessment process culminating in selection of five winners by the Earthshot Prize Council.

Finalists and winners are given an incredible platform to amplify their work, as well as tailored support from The Earthshot Prize and its network of NGOs, businesses, governments, funders and expert mentors. The five winners also receive a one-of-a-kind award and a £1 million grant to scale their impact.

You can find out more about the Prize, EMEC’s role as an Official Nominator, and the five-stage process to selecting winners at

Contact Information

Karianne Kojen Andersen

Innovation Manager

Karianne Kojen Andersen

About EMEC

Established in Orkney in 2003, EMEC is the world’s leading facility for testing wave and tidal energy converters in real sea conditions.

To date, more marine energy converters have been deployed in Orkney, Scotland, than at any other single site in the world with 21 wave and tidal energy clients (from 11 countries) having tested 34 marine energy devices.

EMEC is committed to supporting the transition to net zero and has expanded activities into other sectors including green hydrogen, floating wind, clean transport and energy systems.

About The Earthshot Prize

The Earthshot Prize is the most ambitious and prestigious of its kind – designed to incentivise change and help to repair our planet over the next ten years.

Taking inspiration from President John F. Kennedy’s Moonshot which united millions of people around an organising goal to put man on the moon and catalysed the development of new technology in the 1960s, The Earthshot Prize is centred around five ‘Earthshots’ – simple but ambitious goals for our planet which, if achieved by 2030, will improve life for us all, for generations to come.

Read more